Enter…The Wife!

Today was a weird kinda day, run days just seem to be like that. Maybe it is because I have a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that I am not doing Crossfit on run days, Tuesdays & Thursdays…maybe it is because I hate running…..

Today’s run was like almost all my others, I should say that the best thing about run days is that I get to sleep in a bit. Most days I try to take The Daughter to school so the Wife can leave for work by 7am, I try to leave very close to that, but usually it is around 7:15am that I get out the door with the little one, drop her off, and the head to the office myself. On run days, The Wife takes her, and I start my run about 7am and head to the office sometime before 9am, after I clean up and eat. Back to the story, I felt “off” today, legs were heavy, no stride, or breath control. at some point I settled in, but never felt like I should, it was just way to hard this morning.  I don’t run with a watch on, I don’t care, I just run and when I am done compare my finish time to the start time, and get a ball park – 4 miles / 35 min – and I am happy.  A quick check today showed me in at about 33 min – BLAZING SPEED, no wonder I felt off, I was trying to hard…LOL

Tonights amazing meal was prepared by The Wife, she is just as good, if not better at this cooking than me. How she finds such simple and delicious ways to cook things is beyond me. She needs to share after all what is hers is mine right? Basic principal of marriage.

Tonights main course is from Primal Blueprint, a great cookbook from the the owner of Mark’s Daily Apple.

Chorizo & Almond Crusted Halibut

Chorizo & Almond Crusted Halibut

1/2 cup chopped Spanish Chorizo

1/4 cup blanched almonds / no skin

1 tbls rough chopped parsley

2 skinned halibut ( or other white fish) fillets; about 1/2 pound each

*Preheat oven to 400

*in blender or food processor pulse first 3 ingredients until almonds are chopped to small pieces

*drizzle few tbls of olive oil in bottom of pan and place fish on top

*spread and pat the chorizo on top of fish

*bake for approx 12 min or until fish flakes; finish under the broiler for a few minutes until nuts are lightly browned

Enjoy. Repeat!

Now for Dessert!!!!!

This once again comes from PaleOMG! Chocolate Coffee Carmel Bars

 

PaleOMG! Chocolate Coffee Carmel Bars

 

PaleOMG! Chocolate Coffee Carmel Bars

Crust

12 dried figs (or dates, if you prefer), stems removed

1/2 cup almond butter

1/4 cup Unsweetended Shredded Coconut

2 tablespoons Raw Honey

3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch of salt

Caramel

12-14 medjool dates, pitted and soaked in water for an hour

5-6 tablespoons canned coconut milk

3 tablespoons water

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

pinch of salt

Topping

1 cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips or dark chocolate, melted

1/4 canned coconut milk

2 teaspoons ground coffee

coarse sea salt, to top

*Add all of your crust ingredients into a food processor and mix until well combined. Add the crust mixture to a bread pan and push down until the mixture is flat

*add your dates and pulse until dates have broken down (less than a minute) then add your coconut milk tablespoon by tablespoon to the dates while the food processor is still running. Then add your water

*And add your vanilla extract and pinch of salt;Process until you get a caramel; 3-5 minutes, tops

*Pour caramel over your crust and spread evenly

*Melt chocolate and coconut milk together (microwave or dbl boiler; Once your chocolate is completely melted, add your ground coffee and mix well

*Pour melted chocolate over your caramel and spread evenly; top with sea salt, and place in freezer to set.

That is the short version, please see PaleOMG! Chocolate Coffee Carmel Bars for complete instructions

Eat. Lift. Live. (Like an Animal)

Leave a Reply

