The Air Up Here…

Do you know how hard it is to Crossfit with 50% less oxygen than you are used to? If not let me tell you it sucks, and it leaves you sucking…big time! But it is getting better. I cannot believe the weather we have had here the past few days, simply AMAZING!!!

Thanks to the team at CrossFit Endemic (see link to the right) I have managed to hit 2 goals and set a new PR this month:

Goal 1: 21 unbroken Pull-Ups

Goal 2: Perform a Muscle-Up

PR: 265lb Back Squat (20lb increase)

But we all know you came here for the food, so here you go!

 

Chicken Casserole

 

For Chicken Rub: 1/2 tsp each:

  • Paprika
  • Smoked paprika
  • Cumin
  • Onion powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Basil
  • Chili powder

For Casserole:

  • 1 med onion
  • 1 med pepper
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups sweet potatoes
  • 6-8 mushrooms
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup broth
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder

 

  1. Mix first set of spices together and season chicken
  2. Cook chicken for 10-15 min in 400 degree oven
  3. Heat fat in large skillet and add garlic, then add onion, pepper, carrots, sweet potatoes,  and mushrooms and sauté until tender.
  4. Add broth, coconut milk, smoked paprika, cayenne, and garlic powder. Combine well and bring to a low simmer, then remove from heat.
  5. Combine broccoli, chicken, and, and sauté mixture in oven safe dish and bake for 20-25 min at 400.
  6. Casserole will thicken as it cools.
Chicken Casserole

Chicken Casserole

**NOTE:  If I made this again I wold cut the broth and coconut milk by half and hoped it was not so runny.

EAT.LIFT.LIVE.
{Like an Animal}
21 thoughts on “The Air Up Here…

    • Sorry about that, to be honest the Broccoli was an after thought, I had 8 or so florets that looked like they were going bad.

      The great thing about cooking is that it is such an art; adjust as needed or desired!

    • Really as much chicken as you want. I used 2 lg boneless / skinless breast and 3 boneless/skinless thighs. This would be a great dish to make with any sort of leftover chicken or even turkey after Thanksgiving.

  1. Pingback: Recipes On My Radar « Food & Fitness

    • Michelle W.

      To keep it Paleo I am sure any non dairy / non soy based milk or cream would work.
      If staying Paleo is not an issue then you can use any sort of cream that you like.
      I used Coconut milk because it is go to dairy substitute, but I am sure you could use almond milk if you wanted.

      Let me know what you do and how it turns out!

  2. Found this recipe on Pinterest and have made it twice now. It is not just the best Paleo recipe but one of the best recipes I have tried in general. My kids and I were eating it out of the casserole pan before it even made it to the oven.

    • Jenn,

      Happy to hear that you enjoy this dish.
      I have another chicken dish that I need to post up soon. I have made it a few times now, and think it is ready to share.
      Oh, and it is super simple!

      AP

  3. You can nuke them for a few minutes if you want to speed things up, but I just cook them in the skillet to get them nice and brown, and then let then finish while baking in the oven.

Leave a Reply

